Goals

Discovering coastal ecosystems


​​Better understand the impact of pollutants on marine biodiversity.


Predict the impact of local and global climate change on the microbiome.


Inventory and map the micro-organisms present, define the interactions and the role of each species.


Discover new interactions and new species.


 

© Noelie Pansiot

For two consecutive years, the schooner Tara is participating in the study of coastal ecosystems all along the European coast. The sampling of Tara Europa is part of the TREC expedition – Traversing
European Coastlines
, conceived by EMBL in collaboration with the Tara OceanS consortium, the Tara Ocean Foundation and more than 70 scientific institutions. During this expedition, a parallel study of biodiversity on land, with EMBL’s mobile laboratories, and at sea, with the schooner Tara, is carried out.

Tara europa map 2024
Tara Europa expedition map © Fondation Tara Océan

Next stopovers

Malaga: February 27 to 28, 2024

Barcelona: March 24 to 31, 2024

Marseille: April 4 to 7, 2024

Nice: April 11 to 14, 2024

Naples: May 4 to 12, 2024

Venice: June 5 to 10, 2024

Athens: July 11 to 19, 2024

In brief

An expedition to the land-sea interface

Europe’s coastlines are environments rich in biodiversity, industry, culture and heritage. 40% of Europe’s population lives in a coastal region. Our seas and coasts are home to an extremely rich diversity of life and play an essential role in the stability and sustainability of wider ecosystems.

Discover the schooner
  • 25 520 kmalong the European coastline

  • 19 payscountries crossed and sampled

  • 17 countries where Tara will stop

  • 40scientists on board

Professor Peer Bork, Director of EMBL Heidelberg and TREC coordinator

“We will explore the interactions between the two major ecosystems on our planet in order to better understand how these ecosystems interact, and how the organisms within them respond to natural and anthropogenic environmental changes.”

Beyond plastic pollution, which is visible and has been the focus of attention for more than a decade, human-made chemical pollution of rivers and coasts must be at the centre of our concerns, as it is likely to affect global and human health at a faster rate than climate change.

Schéma TREC
Stakes

An unprecedented study on chemical pollutants

Pollutants enter the environment through our consumption, particularly from industry, agriculture, homes and hospitals. The expedition’s researchers are looking at three categories of pollutants to understand the pollution gradients at the land-sea interface:

Pharmaceuticals

More than 4000 different pharmaceuticals have been detected in water resources. Degraded products are not taken into account in the studies of regulatory agencies. However, these products, even when degraded to by-products, can have an impact on ecosystems. For example, antibiotics pass through all sewage systems and trigger worrying pockets of antibiotic resistance in nature.

Pesticides

More than 1000 pesticides are being studied in the laboratory by EMBL in order to understand how pollutants are metabolised by bacteria and what their by-products are. Thanks to the field study conducted by TREC and Tara EUROPA, scientists will be able to validate their hypotheses and models.

Plastic additives

During Tara EUROPA, two main families of plastifiers will be studied by scientists who will seek to isolate the bacteria capable of degrading these molecules. Seven laboratories will work together for the chemical profiling of these additives.

The accumulation of pharmaceuticals, pesticides and plastics in the environment is creating a growing threat to ecosystem and human health.  Everything humans put into the environment comes back to them through the air they breathe, the water they drink and the food they eat: the urgency is to understand the extent and impact on their health.

 

© Maéva Bardy

The team

All aboard the schooner

The Tara Europa expedition is the at-sea part of the TREC programme led by EMBL. TREC brings together 150 researchers from more than 70 institutions in some 30 countries.

Partner labs

Colomban de Vargas

Scientific director of Tara Europa

Clémentine Moulin

Clémentine Moulin

Director of operations


Ocean culture

Immerse in the expedition

Vue de la goélette tara en navigation

Tara Oceans

An expedition to the heart of the biodiversity of the world of plankton.

Les chercheurs de la misson Tara-Jambio font dériver un filet Neuston en forme d’entonnoir

Microbiomes Mission

Understanding the invisible life of the ocean

Our partners

Major partner

Objectifs

À la découverte des écosystèmes côtiers


Mieux comprendre l’impact des polluants sur la biodiversité marine.


Prédire l’impact des changements climatiques locaux et globaux sur le microbiome.


Inventorier et cartographier les micro-organismes en présence, définir les interactions et le rôle de chaque espèce.


Découvrir de nouvelles interactions et de nouvelles espèces.


 

© Noelie Pansiot

Pendant deux années consécutives, la goélette Tara participe à l’étude des écosystèmes côtiers tout au long des côtes européennes. L’échantillonnage de Tara Europa s’inscrit dans l’expédition TREC – Traversing European Coastlines, conçue par l’EMBL en collaboration avec le consortium Tara OcéanS, la Fondation Tara Océan et plus de 70 institutions scientifiques. Lors de cette expédition, une étude de la biodiversité en parallèle à terre, avec les laboratoires mobiles de l’EMBL, et en mer avec la goélette Tara est réalisée.

Carte Tara Europa 2024
Carte expédition Tara Europa © Fondation Tara Océan

Les prochaines escales

Malaga : 27 au 28 février 2024

Barcelone : 24 au 31 mars 2024

Marseille : 4 au 7 avril 2024

Nice : 11 au 14 avril 2024

Naples : 4 au 12 mai 2024

Venise : 5 au 10 juin 2024

Athènes : 11 au 19 juillet 2024

En bref

Une expédition à l’interface Terre-Mer

Les littoraux européens sont des environnements riches en biodiversité, en industrie, en culture et en patrimoine. 40% de la population européenne vit dans une région côtière. Nos mers et nos côtes abritent une diversité de vie extrêmement riche et jouent un rôle essentiel dans la stabilité et la durabilité des écosystèmes plus larges.

Découvrir la goélette
  • 25 520 kmle long des côtes européennes

  • 19 payspays traversés et échantillonnés

  • 17pays où Tara va faire escale

  • 40scientifiques embarqués

Professeur Peer Bork, directeur de l’EMBL Heidelberg et coordinateur de TREC

« Nous explorerons les interactions entre les deux principaux écosystèmes de notre planète afin de mieux comprendre comment ces écosystèmes interagissent, et comment les organismes qui les composent réagissent aux changements environnementaux naturels et anthropiques. »

Au-delà de la pollution plastique, visible, et au centre de l’attention depuis plus d’une décennie, la pollution chimique d’origine humaine des rivières et des côtes doit être au cœur de nos préoccupations, car elle est susceptible d’affecter la santé planétaire et humaine à un rythme plus rapide que le changement climatique.

Schéma TREC
Enjeux

Une étude sans précédent autour des polluants chimiques

Les polluants entrent dans l’environnement via notre consommation et notamment par l’industrie, l’agriculture, les foyers et les hôpitaux. Les chercheurs de l’expédition s’intéressèrent à trois catégories de polluants pour comprendre quels sont les gradients de pollution existant à l’interface Terre-Mer :

Les produits pharmaceutiques

Plus de 4000 différents produits pharmaceutiques ont été détectés dans les ressources d’eau. Les produits dégradés ne sont pas pris en compte dans les études des agences de régulations. Cependant, ces produits, même dégradés en sous-produits, peuvent avoir un impact sur les écosystèmes. Par exemple, les antibiotiques passent à travers tous les systèmes d’épuration et viennent déclencher d’inquiétantes poches de résistance aux antibiotiques dans la nature.

Les pesticides

Plus de 1000 pesticides sont étudiés en laboratoire par l’EMBL afin de comprendre comment les polluants sont métabolisés par les bactéries et quels sont leurs sous-produits. Grâce à l’étude de terrain menée par TREC et Tara EUROPA, les scientifiques pourront valider leurs hypothèses et leurs modèles.

Les additifs plastiques

Durant Tara EUROPA deux grandes familles de plastifiants seront étudiées par les scientifiques qui chercheront à isoler les bactéries capables de dégrader ces molécules. Sept laboratoires travailleront ensemble pour le profilage chimique de ces additifs.

L’accumulation des produits pharmaceutiques, des pesticides et des plastiques dans l’environnement crée une menace grandissante pour la santé des écosystèmes et la santé humaine.  Tout ce que l’humain met dans l’environnement lui revient par l’air qu’il respire, l’eau qu’il boit et la nourriture qu’il ingère: l’urgence est d’en comprendre l’ampleur et l’impact sur sa santé.

 

© Maéva Bardy

L’équipe

Tous à bord de la goélette

L’expédition Tara Europa est la partie en mer du programme TREC dirigé par l’EMBL. TREC réunit 150 chercheurs et chercheuses de plus de 70 institutions réparties dans une trentaine de pays. 

Labos partenaires

Colomban de Vargas

Colomban de Vargas

Directeur scientifique de Tara Europa

Clémentine Moulin

Clémentine Moulin

Directrice des opérations


Culture Océan

Les coulisses des expéditions

Vue de la goélette tara en navigation

Tara Oceans

Expédition au cœur de la biodiversité du monde planctonique

Les chercheurs de la misson Tara-Jambio font dériver un filet Neuston en forme d’entonnoir

Mission Microbiomes

Comprendre le peuple invisible de l’Océan pour préserver notre avenir

Nos partenaires

Partenaire majeur
agnès b., partenaire majeur de la Fondation Tara Océan
Autres partenaires